Keck Logo

Home > People > Current Members
Center For Nanoscale Optofluidics Members
Schmidt Holger Schmidt

Professor of Electrical Engineering, Center Director

Prof. Schmidt directs the Applied Optics group at UCSC. His group has developed planar liquid-core optical waveguides and demonstrated their use in optfluidic chips for single particle detection and manipulation. He is co-editor of the first "Handbook of Optofluidics" to appear at CRC Press.

Akeson Mark Akeson

Professor of Biomolecular Engineering

Prof. Akeson's reserach deals with using nanopores for single molecule analysis with a focus on dynamics and structureof DNA duplex ends.


David Deamer

Professor of Biomolecular Engineering and Professor Emeritus of Chemistry
David Deamer's primary research area concerns the manner in which linear macromolecules such as nucleic acids traverse nanscopic channels. He is also investigating molecular self-assembly processes in the context of the origin's of life on Earth.


Ali Yanik

Assistant Professor of Computer Engineering

Prof. Yanik’s group focuses on nanoscale optofluidics and applications of nanoplasmonic devices for global health and point-of-care diagnostics. His research group designs and engineers photonic devices focusing and manipulating light beyond the Abbe’s diffraction limit to achieve low-cost biodetection and Nanophotonic-BioNEMS technologies.


Harry Noller

Robert L. Sinsheimer Professor of MCD Biology; Director, Center for Molecular Biology of RNA; Member, National Academy of Science

Prof. Noller's lab investigates the structure and function of the ribosome, the cellular ribonucleoprotein complex responsible for translation of the genetic code, and synthesis of proteins in all organisms.


Jin Zhang

Professor of Chemistry

Prof. Zhang's group studies the design, development, characterization, and application of nanoparticles for optical and electronic applications. Both semiconducting and metallic quantum dots and nanoparticles are synthesized and fuctionalized.


Dr. Tom Yuzvinsky

Tom manages the Nanofabrication Lab for the W.M. Keck Center for Nanoscale Optofluidics. His background is in physics and nanoscience. He holds a PhD from UC Berkeley where he worked on carbon nanotube devices. Tom has held postdoctoral positions at UC Berkeley and USC. His research interests are in using nanotechnology at the interface between physical and biological structures. For more on Dr.Yuzvinsky's background, please click here.





Kaelyn Leake

Kaelyn is a PhD student in electrical engineering . She works on optical particle manipulation in optofluidic devices. This includes optical trapping and sorting of biological and inorganic particles.



Bob Fitzmorris

Bob is a PhD student in chemistry. He works on nanopore- based detection of gene sequences of single nucleic acids using quantum dot labeled probes.



Damon Wheeler

Damon is a PhD student in chemistry. He works on hollow metal nanoparticles with a wide variety of applications, including cancer treatment and Raman sensing.



Miten Jain

Miten is a PhD student in biomolecular engineering. He works on studies of single biomolecules using electrical analysis in biological and solid-state nanopores.



Jinbo Zhu

Jinbo is a PhD student in Electrical Engineering. He obtained a M.S. degree in Optical Engineering from Nankai University in 2013. His current research interests include studies on integrated optofluidics and its applications.

*Keck Fellows are supported by first year fellowships from QB3, the California Institute for Quantitative Biosciences.

   Home /// Baskin School of Engineering ///  PbSci Division /// UC Santa Cruz

   © 2013 H. Schmidt.  All rights reserved.